Category Archives: News

Congratulations Keith Thomas, Recipient of the Ben Walters Distinguished Service Award!

Anchorage attorney Keith Thomas was honored for outstanding public service to the Bar with an award given by the Anchorage Bar Association. Anchorage attorney Joseph Levesque presented Thomas with the Benjamin Walters Distinguished Service Award at the Alaska Bar Convention in Anchorage, Alaska on Thursday, October 27, 2022. Mr. Thomas is Assistant Public Defender with […]

Anchorage Bar 2023 Membership Dues

Please join or renew your 2023 membership dues if you haven’t already.  Please click “Join/Renew” and create an account or Renew!  We are starting to have socials – Thirsty Thursdays – approximately  every second Thursday of the month.  Check-in for details, each month will be at a different location. We have combined the different types […]

(Event Concluded) 2022 Benjamin Walters Distinguished Service Award – Congratulations Keith Thomas

The Anchorage Bar Association has given an Outstanding Service Award for many years now.  In 2006 we renamed the award the Benjamin Walters Distinguished Service Award in honor of our longtime Board member and friend who passed away that year.  Ben was always willing to give many hours to the community in the legal arena […]


CONGRATULATIONS TO ANCHORAGE BAR ASSOCIATION – 65th YEAR ANNIVERSARY! Congratulations to our 2022 Officers Our 2022 Officers:  Cheryl McKay – President; Matthew Widmer – President-Elect; Bob Owens – Treasurers; and Leonard Anderson – Secretary. Congratulations to our Board members whose terms will be from Jan 2022 – 2025:  Bob Owens, Leonard Anderson, Michael Corey, Ryan Fortson, […]

Congratulations to Cheryl McKay – Recipient of the Judge Nora Guinn Award!

Cheryl McKay – President-Elect received the Judge Nora Guinn Award.  Nora Guinn established a benchmark as the first Alaska Native woman to be appointed as the Alaska District Court Judge.  Cheryl McKay upholds the standard of integrity and public service worthy of Judge Guinn”s legacy.  Dr. Shirley J. Holloway who nominated Cheryl, stated:  “I was […]

Bean’s Cafe Donation

$1,000 donation given to Bean’s Cafe In memory of the lawyers who passed in 2021:  C. Richard Avery, Daniel Beardsley, Richard Block, Christopher Bridger, Jody Brion, Carol Childress, Paul Davis, Theodore Dunn, Deborah Greenberg, Dean Guaneli, John Havelock, David Lawer, Denis Lazarus, Katheryn Lynch, Michael Andrew Martin, Stephen Merrill, David Millen, Robert Noreen, Ron Offret, […]